What is it? Pink Fuzzy Barnacle

By Nicole Webster

So my snails are carnivores. Their most favorite treat are barnacles, which they drill and wedge their way through the opercular plates (the top) to get at the juicy arthropod inside. As a result, I have a fair number of barnacle covered rocks in the lab to feed my hungry horde.

I’ve noticed a few of the barnacles get this bright pink fuzz growing on them. I’ve only seen it on dead barnacles, but not necessarily after they’ve been eaten.

Snazzy boa? Fungus? Bacteria? Credit: N Webster

Anyone know what it is? I think I’ll look under a scope in the near future, but I’d love to hear what you think, serious or not.

2 thoughts on “What is it? Pink Fuzzy Barnacle

  1. Pingback: If it looks like a lichen… | BMSC Student Blog

Leave a Reply

