My first time at a conference

by Susan Anthony

I’m unsure as to why I have never been to a conference before, but I haven’t. I have almost completed my 2nd year as a graduate student at U of A, having done 2 field seasons, and finally have data worth presenting. So I ventured onto unchartered territories.

Palm trees

Classic California shot. Credit: S. Anthony 2013

The conference I chose was the Western Society of Naturalists. This year it was held at the Embassy Suites in Oxnard California.

Oxnard marina

Oxnard marina. On my afternoon off, I went for a walk along the boardwalk. Credit: S. Anthony 2013

After frantically analyzing data and producing graphs, formatting Powerpoint and practicing my talk, I hit the road and air for sunny Southern California. The conference was at a swanky resort on the beach, which allowed very brief beach walks at lunch break. The mornings were busy with symposia, and the afternoons were packed with back-to-back 15 minute presentations: you were running out of one talk to get to the next.

WSN name tag

It’s official. Credit: S. Anthony 2013

It was a great experience. I met some wonderful people, and learned about research that was being conducted, and results that were being found. There were lots of parties, a lively auction, and inspirational talks: most notably the final speech by the secretariat, on the subject of being a naturalist.

Presidential banquet

Figure 5: A toast at the Presidential Banquet on the last night of the conference. I was lucky enough to get a ticket from someone who couldn’t make it, and in return placed bids on many books in the silent auction. Credit: S. Anthony 2013

The speech reminded me about the joys of being a naturalist (along with the annoyance faced when people mistake “naturalist” for “naturist”). He spoke of the history of naturalists; those that observed and wondered. They were interested in how things are in the natural world. This type of science is falling out of favour, perhaps because funding has declined. If we lose naturalists who can tell us how things are, and as our Earth gets damaged, how things might react.

Sunset in Oxnard

Sunset on my last night in Oxnard. The weather was beautiful. Credit: S. Anthony 2013

Leave a Reply

